Castrol Edge Motorsport

Škoda - European Rally Championship

Škoda’s amazing motorsport heritage stretches way back to one of the first-ever cross-Europe endurance road races. The team caught everyone by surprise during its debut Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) season in 2009, clinching a number of victories and taking second in both the Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ standings. With plenty of momentum behind it, the team went on to dominate the IRC in 2010, 2011 and 2012, taking Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ titles. In 2013, the Czech pairing of Jan Kopecky and Pavel Dresler clinched the overall championship for Škoda. From twelve starts, Škoda scored eleven podium finishes and eight victories – an incredible performance!

Škoda Motorsport Team

The new Finnish crew of Esapekka Lappi and Janne Ferm demonstrated huge potential during their first start with the Škoda Motorsport factory team, winning Rally Poland in 2012. In 2013, the pair made a real statement of intent when they finished second in Italy and powered to victory in the season finale in Switzerland. 

The crew of Sepp Wiegand and Frank Christian have been successful in WRC2, where they won the 2013 season opener in Monte Carlo and grabbed two more podium finishes in Sweden and Portugal.

Škoda Fabia Super 2000

It might look similar to the road-going Fabia VRS, but the Super 2000 is an entirely different beast. Powered by a screaming race-tuned 2.0-litre naturally-aspirated engine, lubricated with Castrol EDGE, the car delivers 275bhp and 250Nm of torque. The advanced four-wheel-drive system, which works with specially designed rally tires, makes it easy for the drivers to get the power down and pull off truly astounding acceleration and handling, even in slippery mud or wet gravel.

The Stats

Car: Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Engine: 2.0-litre naturally-aspirated
Power: 275bhp
Torque: 250Nm


The 2014 12-rally ERC season takes the teams around Europe’s greatest rally venues on asphalt, gravel and snow, including Greece, Portugal, Belgium and Czech Republic. The season runs from January to November.

3-5 January  Jännerrallye (AUT)
31 January-2 February Rally Liepāja (LAT)
27 February-1 March  Sibiu Rally (ROM)
28-30 March Acropolis Rally (GRE)
17-19 April  Circuit of Ireland Rally (GBR) 
15-17 May  SATA Rallye Açores (POR)
19-21 June Geko Ypres Rally (BEL)
17-19 July auto24 Rally (EST)
29-31 August Barum Czech Rally Zlín (CZE)
19-21 September  Cyprus Rally (CYP)
23-25 October Rallye International du Valais (SWI)
6-8 November** Giru di Corsica-Tour de Corse (FRA) 
*Subject to ratification by the FIA World Motor Sport Council
**Subject to the signing of the event promoter agreement

About ERC

The FIA European Rally Championship is one of the world’s longest running rally championships, having started in 1953. In 2013, the European Rally Championship and the Intercontinental Rally Challenge merged into one championship making it even more exciting.